TEXAS HOUSING ASSOCIATION BOARD MINUTES August 14, 2024 Moody Gardens, Galveston TX

President Stacia Waters called the meeting to order at 1:33 p.m.

Roll Call – Rudy Ramirez, Deanna Broussard, John Salcido, Joyce Young (retiring), excused – Sherri McDade, unexcused. Rhonda Franke made the motion to approve the excused absences. Ebby Green seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Minutes of the previous meeting were presented. Becky Leal made the motion to approve the minutes as presented. Kim McGilvray seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Treasurer's Report

Cal Davis presented the treasurer's report. Profit & Loss has income of \$616,546.47. Expenses are \$284,803.19. All conference expenses have not been recorded. Josh Talley made the motion to approve the financials, Melissa Hance seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Annual Conference Report – Presented by Jennifer Dugan. There are 615 people in attendance, last year there were 550 in attendance. There were 48 booths this year which is still a little low. Dee Zachary asked how many booths Kalahari could fit. The information is not known yet. The breakdown for attendance was as follows, maintenance 77, commissioners 82, staff 316, and others 44 (spouses, friends, children, ect.). A total of 292 moody passes were sold. There were some issues with Moody, it has gone downhill, insects, restaurant is slow, the café is supposed to be prepared for 400 people when don't have a meal served. Kim McGilvray made a motion to look at other options for 2026, Josh Talley seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously. Stan Dulaney wanted to know if it would be this region or another option. Tuesday morning, a high schooler was supposed to come for the opening ceremony but no showed. Stan Dulaney stepped in and sang the national anthem. Dee Zachary asked why we don't do the Texas allegiance. We will add it in to the opening ceremony. The party is in the process of setting up. Stacia Waters thanked Abigail for her help and JoAnn Rodriguez's daughters were recognized for their contributions. Stan Dulaney made the motion to accept the director's report. Rhonda Franke seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Regional Organization's presented their reports.

Central Texas Housing Association brought up having a trainer bring material they had created to train a regional association outside of THA. Stacia Waters, creator of the maintenance training, had told them she did not know if she could take that training to a region.

CTHA, NTHA, WTCOG, ToTX and NETHA presented past meeting reports.

Out Going Board Members

Wayne Pollard, Cristi LaJeunesse, Joyce Young, Cal Davis, Mellisa Hance, Dee Zachary, Josh Talley, Peggy Gaydos, Becky Leal, Steve Martin, Stacia Waters, Kim McGilvray, Joan Wright, Stan Dulaney, Daisy Flores, John Salcido, Sherri McDade

TEXAS HOUSING ASSOCIATION BOARD MINUTES August 14, 2024

Moody Gardens, Galveston TX

Jennifer Dugan explained about the mix of the ballots, with Peggy being left off. Stacia Waters told everyone that she told Jennifer to amend the ballot just like it would have been done if anyone had been left off. It was discussed and agreed that By-laws needed to be updated to address the change of our FYE and that terms needed to be adjusted accordingly. If nominees do not submit a Photo and Bio they will NOT be eligible for Ballot. It was suggested that at the Wednesday night party that the Officers be introduced.

We discussed if we wanted to sign contract for Moody again or search for other hotels; it was agreed to look elsewhere if Moody did not improve. Kim McGilvray made a motion to look at other options for 2026, Josh Talley seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Melissa Hance made a motion we adjourn and Joan Wright seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

In attendance -

Stacia Waters (Atlanta, et al)

Steve Martin (Mt. Pleasant)

Peggy Gaydos (Ingleside)

Cal Davis (New Boston, et al)

Cristi LaJeunesse (Kenedy, et al)

Kim McGilvray (Decatur)

Dee Zachry (Dublin)

Ronda Franke (Baird)

Joan Wright (McGregor)

Ebby Green (Taylor, Round Rock)

Rebecca Leal (Poteet)

Tricia Taylor (Port Lavaca)

Daisy Flores (Cameron Co.)

Stan Dulaney (Gladewater)

Melissa Hance (Grand Saline, et al)

Wayne Pollard (Tarrant County)

Josh Talley (Memphis, Post)

Mike Chapman (Lubbock, Ralls)

Andrew Laabs (Odessa, Rankin)